All Saints'

Church of England Academy

Working together to care for each other

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search

Get in touch

Contact Details

Social Media

Curriculum Map

'Numeracy and Literacy are really important because they underpin all other aspects of the curriculum. Equally important is our total commitment to a broad and balanced curriculum that enables all children to develop their own individual talents and provides exciting, stimulating learning experiences for all our young people.'


We offer a wide ranging and comprehensive curriculum that is both structured and stimulating. All Saints’ places great emphasis on teaching the skills of literacy and numeracy, believing that these provide the foundation upon which further study in other subject areas is based.


The National Curriculum 2014,  for Key Stages 1 and 2, consists of eleven subjects: English, Mathematics, Science, Design and Technology, Computing and Programming), History, Geography, Art and Design, Music, Physical Education and Modern Foreign Languages (KS2) . In addition Religious Education is also an important aspect of the curriculum


Alongside the academic curriculum, our Personal, Social and Health Education and Citizenship (P.S.H.E & Citizenship) curriculum prepares children for their lives today and in the future.


Teaching, particularly in the Foundation Stage and Key Stage 1, is organized under topic headings, which have been selected to ensure continuity, progression and full coverage of National Curriculum Programmes of Study. As the children progress through the Primary School some areas of knowledge are taught as discrete subjects. Curriculum plans for each class are distributed at the beginning of each school year.

Throughout the school we place great emphasis on the development of each individual child as an independent learner. ‘Building Learning Power’ underpins the planning of structured teaching and the application of learned skills whilst encouraging pupils to reflect upon, and take increasing responsibility for, the choices they make, empowering them as learners. De Bono’s Thinking Hats are used from the Foundation Stage to enable children to structure their thinking effectively.


We enable children to develop increased awareness of their own learning preferences and how to develop these effectively. Super Learning Days are held termly and provide exciting opportunities for older and younger children to learn alongside each other. These have included: ‘The Great Plant Hunt’, ‘Airport Day’, ‘400 Years of the King James Bible’, ‘The World Cup’, `Healthy Lunch Box’, ‘Out of the Box’ (in partnership with our local history society and county records office), Mathematics Problem Solving  and ‘The Lord’s Prayer Day’.

Please see individual subject policies on our Green Leek Federation Policies page.

Key Stage 1


We work to make the curriculum in Key Stage 1 as exciting as possible, linking subjects together under topic headings to enable children to learn most effectively whilst being mindful of the importance of developing key skills in discrete subject areas. ‘The Dragon’s Lair’, ‘The Rabbit Problem’, ’Heroes and Villains’, ‘Seaside Rescue’  and ‘On the Way Home’, are some of the exciting starting points experienced by our 5-7 year olds.


Children in Key Stage 1 are placed in two mixed age group classes, Oak and Ash. We use the strengths of our experienced staff to widen opportunities for children through whole class teaching, year group teaching, small focused groups and one-one support.

Key Stage 2

Key Stage 2 is a time of enabling children to continue to develop key skills in English, Mathematics, Science and Computing and Programming, being mindful that these skills underpin achievement in so many areas of learning. At the same time we provide opportunities for children to apply skills, investigate and problem solve within broader curriculum contexts. We use history and geography to drive cohesive topics that are meaningful, exciting and extend the boundaries of children’s knowledge.  ‘Rainforest’, ’Time Detectives’, ‘Tomb Raiders’ and ‘Should We Send the Children?’ are just a few of our stimulating starting points for our older children.

Key Stage 2 is organised into 3 classes: Year 3/4-Dudley, Year 4/5-Waller and Year 6-Wise.


Year 3 is a time of transition from Key Stage 1 to Key Stage 2. 
It is a time to develop and use greater independence in the choices made within learning. A time to use and develop a wider range of skills across the curriculum.

Year 4 is a time of developing confidence in Key Stage 2
It is a time to develop higher level skills to produce work of greater depth. It is a time to explore and participate in a wider range of extra curricular activities.

Year 5 is a time of opportunity and challenge
It is a time to use knowledge and skills in more complex contexts and to reflect personal choices and opinions in work produced. It is a time to relish greater responsibilities in the life of our school.

Year 6 is a time to accept and take responsibility for maximising learning opportunities
It is a time to show understanding in work that has depth and quality and to develop leadership skills that contribute to the well being of everybody in our school.